Dabeen Lee

Dabeen Lee

Assistant Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering, KAIST

Office: 2109 E2-2

E-mail: dabeenl [at] kaist [dot] ac [dot] kr

Tel: +82-42-350-3113 (042-350-3113)

About Me

I am an assistant professor in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISysE) at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). Previously, I was a post-doc in the Discrete Mathematics Group at the Institute for Basic Science (IBS), hosted by Sang-il Oum, and a recipient of the IBS Young Scientist Fellowship (YSF).

I obtained my Ph.D. in the Algorithms, Combinatorics, and Optimization (ACO) program at the Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University, advised by Gérard Cornuéjols. My thesis won the Gerald L. Thompson Doctoral Dissertation Award for the best Ph.D. thesis in the area of management Science, and I was supported by Henry J. Gailliot Presidential Fellowship. A part of my thesis received Second Place in the INFORMS Optimization Society Best Student Paper Prize Competition 2019.

CV (pdf)

Research Interests

I am interested in a broad area of optimization spanning discrete and combinatorial optimization, stochastic, robust, and distributionally robust optimization, submodular optimization, and optimization algorithms. Recently, I have been working on developing optimization methods for solving stochastic and data-driven decision-making problems. I am also interested in algorithms for online decision-making, such as multi-armed bandits, online scheduling, and online stochastic/convex optimization. Some of my latest projects span topics including distributionally robust chance-constrained programming, memory-efficient algorithms for submodular maximization, and learning algorithms for scheduling under uncertainty.


Current courses

IE539 Convex Optimization

Past courses

IE331 Operations Research: Optimization, Spring 2023

IE631 Integer Programming, Spring 2023

IE539 Convex Optimization, Fall 2022

Current members


Duksang Lee (2023 - )

Graduate students

Yeongjong Kim (Math, 2022 - ), Jaehyun Park (ISySE, 2023 - ), Junyeop Kwon (ISySE, 2023 - ), Sungwoo Park (ISySE, 2023 - )



Ph.D. thesis:


Ahmad Abdi, Gérard Cornuéjols, Sanjeeb Dash, Oktay Günlük, Natália Guričanová, Nam Ho-Nguyen, Tony Huynh, Fatma Kılınç-Karzan, Yeongjong Kim, Simge Küçükyavuz, Duksang Lee, Yanjun Li, William Overman, Soroosh Shafieezadeh-Abadeh, Milan Vojnovic, Se-Young Yun